Why I Breastfeed

Here’s the deal, I grew up being breastfed, loving it and not thinking once that it was odd.  I was the fourth of six children, all of which were breastfed for as long as we wanted.  I decided that age five was long enough for me.  Well truth be told, my younger brother Zach came along and he dominated the breast so I said “fine you can have it.” 🙂  I self weaned, exactly as I believe children should do.  I started out breastfeeding for nutrition and ended up continuing for comfort and closeness with my mother.   My mother and I fed in public without the thought that it was weird, wrong, gross, or  that it might be detrimental to me.  Mothers and babies/children should be able to always have that comfort and support without negativity from the public.

I breastfeed and will continue to breastfeed for as long as my son and any future children want.  I breastfeed for a multitude of reasons. 1) It is supremely healthy for baby and mother, 2) It is cheaper, 3) It is “fast food” at its finest, taking no time to wash bottles, mix formula, or warm bottles, and 4) It is mutually wanted by both my son and me; we connect, love and snuggle every time that he is at the breast.

I am not under the assumption that extended breastfeeding is for every mother, but it is for me and for many other mothers out there.  What I am saying is simply…let mothers decide what is best for them, without judgement.  Just because one mother decides to breastfeed past what is comfortable to one person, does not mean that they are asking for your input, thoughts, or ridicule.  Let them be and give them the respect that they give you when eating.

Your thoughts...

